Christian Fiction: If You Love This Movie....Then Read This!

Add heading (1).png

Movies are so much fun and I love watching them. It's great to unwind after a long week and watch something spectacular on the big screen. Often times I think if I liked this movie what kind of books are similar? If you are getting into reading again, often the type of movies you like to watch, will often be the type of genre you will like to read. 

Here are my Christian fiction recommendations based on three popular movies! 

Guardians of the Galaxy 

Guardians of the Galaxy is so much fun. I absolutely enjoyed both of them. I can't wait to see how they continue the story in later movies. Fans of Marvel movies, in general, will enjoy these books! 

Recruits by Thomas Locke

For more than a decade, twins Sean and Dillon Kirrel have felt pulled toward another world--a place they have sketched out in detail and posted on the walls of their bedroom. Soon after their seventeenth birthday, they are approached by a clandestine scout. To him, Earth is just a distant and unmonitored outpost of human civilization. But he explains that Sean and Dillon share a unique gift--the ability to transfer instantly from place to place. Transitors who are also twins are especially rare, and so they are offered an opportunity to prove themselves as recruits to the human assembly. If they don't succeed within thirty days, their minds will be wiped. Either they make the grade as inter-planetary travelers--or this never happened.

Space Drifters by Paul Regnier

Captain Glint Starcrost is not having the carefree, adventurous life the space academy brochures promised star pilots. Broke, with an unreliable star freighter and a bounty on his head, Glint is desperate enough to try anything. Even set out on a quest to find a fabled good luck charm, the Emerald Enigma. Now for a crew. A passive-aggressive ship computer, a peaceable alien warrior, and time-traveling teen from the past aren't what he had in mind. But they'll have to do. The Emerald Enigma won't wait forever and neither will the bounty hunter tracking him.

The Word Reclaimed by Steve Rzara 

Spare parts - that's all Baden was looking for. Even then, whatever wrecks the pirates leave to rust in some corner of space are hardly worth the time he spends salvaging them. But a book? A Bible, no less? Now, that's different. The pages will bring a nice payout, with the content itself maybe more than nice. Baden had thought the secret police erased all trace of religion from the five colonies. A talking book should be the least of Baden's worries with the interstellar war storming. Should be. However, when the secret police are tipped off, reclaiming the Word that was abolished years ago, becomes a matter of afterlife and death.

Mad Max 

Apocolypse type movies have become a huge trend in the last few years. I have seen the older Mad Max movies as well as the one in 2015. Charlize Theron definitely kicked butt in that movie. It's basically one big car chase. The characters and the setting are just as equally interesting. If you enjoy watching movies about the end of times you will enjoy reading these books! 

Light of Dawn by Vannetta Chapman

For nine months, since a devastating solar flare caused a complete failure of the electrical grid, Shelby Sparks and her diabetic son, Carter, have been living at the ranch of Shelby's high school sweetheart, Max Berkman. Mostly insulated from the chaos surrounding them, Shelby and Max discover that the Texas government has fled the capital and is barely maintaining control of the state. Compelled by Carter's desperate need for insulin and their God-given sense of duty, Shelby and Max answer the governor's call and set out on a treacherous 600-mile journey, where they will experience the terrifying effects of unrestrained anarchy. If they have the faith and fortitude necessary to reach their destination, what will they find when they get there?

Left Behind by Tim LaHaye

An airborne Boeing 747 is headed to London when, without any warning, passengers mysteriously disappear from their seats. Terror and chaos slowly spread not only through the plane but also worldwide as unusual events continue to unfold. For those who have been left behind, the apocalypse has just begun. 

The Valley of the Dry Bones by Jerry Jenkins

After a 17-year drought, multiple earthquakes, and uncontrollable wildfires, the state is desolate. The United States President declares the state uninhabitable and irreparable, directing California's 39 million citizens to relocate. From the air, California looks like a vast abandoned sandbox, but to a few groups of people, it's their home. With less than 1% of the population remaining in California at their own risk, the holdouts encounter a clash of cultures, ethnicities, religions, and politics that pits friend against a friend with the future of California at stake.

Gone with the Wind

Did you know Gone with the Wind is the highest grossing movie of all time?! I saw Gone with the Wind when I was in High School. I never read the book, however. For those that love a good romance and loved the movie will thoroughly enjoy these books! 

All Things New by Lynn Austin

Josephine Weatherly struggles to pick up the pieces of her life when her family returns to their Virginia plantation. But the realities of life after the war cannot be denied: her home and land are but a shell of their previous grandeur; death has claimed her father and brother; and her remaining brother, Daniel, has returned home bitter and broken. 

Read My Review --->HERE
 

In His Eyes by Stephanie McGee

Ella Whitaker rescues a newborn from the dying arms of a woman of ill repute and at long last, she has someone to love. In need of a wet nurse, she arrives at Belmont Plantation just as Federal soldiers demand to speak to the owner. Thinking quickly, Ella masquerades as a Yankee officer's widow in order to have a roof over her head and a home for the child. 

To Whisper Her Name by Tamera Alexander 

Olivia Aberdeen, a destitute widow of a man shot as a traitor to the South, is shunned by proper society and gratefully accepts an invitation from "Aunt" Elizabeth Harding, mistress of Belle Meade Plantation. Expecting to be the Harding's head housekeeper, Olivia is disillusioned when she learns the real reason Elizabeth's husband, Confederate General William Giles Harding, agreed to her coming. Not finding the safe haven she expects, Olivia is caught off guard by her feelings for Ridley Adam Cooper, a Southern man who seems anything but a Southern gentleman.

 

I hope you enjoyed this post! It was a lot of fun finding books similar to the movies above. Let me know in the comments if you would like to see reviews on these books in the future! 

the caffeinated bibliophile